Senate Democrats Prevent Vote On Obama Amnesty

In a 50-50 vote, Senate Democrats succeeded in blocking a vote on President Obama’s promised post-election amnesty edict — but only by the barest of margins. On Thursday, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL) made a motion that would allow a vote to block the planned amnesty edict, saying: “If you believe we are a sovereign nation, with the right to control our own borders, then you must vote ‘yes.’ If you believe America is an oligarchy, run by a group of special interests meeting in the White House to rewrite our immigration laws, then vote’no.”’

Fifty senators voted yes and fifty voted no, so the motion failed. To try to save their seats, four Democratic lawmakers — Kay Hagan (NC), Mary Landrieu (LA), Jeanne Shaheen (NH), and Mark Prior (AR), voted with Sessions even though they had opposed the same motion earlier this year.


Posted 9/19/14 by Andrew Lewis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here