New Asylum Policy Announced

The Trump Administration has announced a new asylum policy. Published in the federal register, it would require migrants to seek asylum in the countries they enter before they can apply for asylum in the U.S. To illustrate, someone from Guatemala who crosses Mexico to reach the U.S. would first have file an asylum claim in Mexico.

Concerning the policy change, DHS Acting Secretary Kevin McAleenan stated “Ultimately, today’s action will reduce the overwhelming burdens on our domestic system caused by asylum-seekers failing to seek urgent protection in the first available country, economic migrants lacking a legitimate fear of persecution, and the transnational criminal organizations, traffickers, and smugglers exploiting our system for profits.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here